Image

These are my mother’s favorite: Chocolate almond Friands.

My first ever baking attempt was baking a batch of friands for my mother’s birthday. I loved making them so much that I kept baking the same recipe again and again in hope to perfect it. Thankfully, progress was evident as the friands became better and better with every new attempt.

Image

I find that if you use really, really good quality chocolate, the flavour transforms incredibly. Also, by buttering the tins, you get a nice crunchy, buttery exterior that my mother loves.

1 cup almond meal
1 cup icing sugar, sifted
1/2 cup plain flour, sifted
1/2 teaspoon baking powder, sifted
6 eggwhites
140g butter, melted
200g dark chocolate, chopped
2 tablespoons chopped almonds

1. Preheat oven to 180C.

2. Place the almond meal, icing sugar, flour, baking powder, eggwhites, butter and chocolate in a bowl and whisk until combined.

3. Spoon the mixture into 12 x 1/2-cup capacity lightly greased oval-shaped or muffin tins and sprinkle with the hazelnut.

4. Bake for 20–25 minutes or until golden and cooked through.

5. Using a palette knife, loosen the edges and remove the friands from the tins immediately. Allow to cool on a wire rack before serving

Image

